Skip to main content
arc logo
Automotive Research Center
hero image
Back to faculty page
Bogdan Epureanu

Bogdan Epureanu

Roger L. McCarthy Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Bogdan I. Epureanu is the Roger L. McCarthy Professor of Mechanical Engineering and an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan, and has a courtesy appointment in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. He received his Ph.D. from Duke University in 1999. With a background in nonlinear dynamics, during his tenure of more than 22 years at the University of Michigan, he pioneered interdisciplinary research directions enhancing aircraft safety and performance, early detection of neurodegenerative diseases, and forecasting tipping points in engineered and physical systems such as disease epidemics and ecology. As Director of the Automotive Research Center he leads research in control and teaming of autonomous vehicles, human-autonomous vehicle interactions, high performance structures and materials, intelligent power systems, fleet operations, and vehicle system of systems integration. He published more than 200 papers in leading peer-reviewed journals, more than 200 conference papers and books in the field, and delivered more than 250 conference presentations, lectures, and invited talks. He taught 22 undergraduate and 16 graduate courses, mentored 12 post-doctoral fellows, directed over 110 graduate students in projects and 65 undergraduate projects involving 87 undergraduate students. He is the founding president of the Beta chapter of INCOSE Sigma Mu Theta, Vice-President of Pi Tau Sigma (PTS), the International Honor Society of Mechanical Engineers. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the ASME Journal of Computational and Nonlinear Dynamics. Among others, he is the recipient of the Myklestad Award, the Dedicated Service Award – ASME Design Engineering Division, Archie Higdon Distinguished Educator Award – American Society for Engineering Education, 1938E Award, Monroe-Brown Foundation Research Excellence Award, Ted Kennedy Family Faculty Team Excellence Award, John Ullrich Education Excellence Award – College of Engineering, University of Michigan, Rackham Faculty Recognition Award, and he is an ASME Fellow.