ARC at ...

Automotive Research Center renewed until 2024 with $50M (Apr. 10, 2019, UM Record)

Dr. Andre Boehman comments on European auto emissions scandal (Apr. 5, 2019, Washington Post)

Dr. Lionel Robert comments on robotic vehicle adoption in China and US (Mar. 11, 2019, China Daily)

Dr, Bogdan Epureanu honored as Arthur F. Thurnau Professor (Feb. 21, 2019, UM Record)

TARDEC is now CCDC Ground Vehicle System Center (Feb. 4, 2019,

Dr. Stefanopoulou on why car batteries struggle in the cold (Jan 30, 2019, Wired)

Dr. Anna Stefanopoulou appointed Director of UM Energy Institute (Sep 1, 2018, UM Record)


Dr. Necimye Ozay recognized with Henry Russel Award (Jun 28, 2018, Michigan Engineer)

ARC Researchers at ACC 2018 (May 24-26, 2017, ACC)

Best Paper Award of ASME Automotive and Transportation Systems Technical Committee (Jun. 13, 2018)

ARC Members Honored as Fellows at SAE World Congress (Apr. 10, 2018)

ARC Researchers at the 2018 SAE World Congress (Apr. 10-12, 2018, SAE)

Dr. Lionel Robert on how and whether pedestrians can trust autonomous vehicles (Mar 30, 2018, Mich. Radio)

Dr. Heath Hofmann interviewed about Toyota Prius hybrid system defect (Feb 7, 2018, LA Times)

Dr. Jason Siegel to chair IEEE Technical Committee on Automotive Controls (Feb 2018, IEEE)

Dr. Anna Stefanopoulou on research of sustainable vehicle technologies (Jan 24, 2018, WEMU)

Stefanopoulou plenary at IEEE 56th CDC (Jan 17, 2018, ME)

ARC Researchers at IEEE 56th Conf. Decision and Control (Dec 12-14, 2017, CDC)

ARC Researchers at ASME DSCC 2017 (Oct. 11-13, 2017, DSCC)

Dr. Kira Barton receives ASME DSCD Young Investigator Award (Sep. 8 2017, ME)

ARC Papers at GVSETS 2017 (Aug. 8-10, 2017, GVSETS)

Dr. Angela Violi receives 2017 Adel Sarofim award (Jul. 20, 2017, ME)

U. of Iowa recognizes Dr. KK Choi's company with Startup of the Year award (July 2017, U.Iowa)

ARC Director opens Swedish Electromobility Center's annual conference with invited talk (Jun. 30, 2017, Stockholm U.)

University of Michigan Faculty Brent Gillespie, Kira Barton and Tulga Ersal Promoted (May 2017)

ARC Researchers at ACC 2017 (May 24-26, 2017, ACC)

Congresswoman Dingell gives opening remarks at 23rd ARC Annual Program Review (May 9-10, ME)

ARC Researchers at the 2017 SAE World Congress (Apr. 4-6, 2017, SAE)

Dr. Simona Onori receives NSF CAREER award (Apr. 2017, UBJ)

Dr. Dawn Tilbury appointed Assistant Director of NSF Directorate for Engineering (Mar. 27, 2017, UM News)

Dr. Tulga Ersal on Pushing Autonomous Vehicles to Dynamic Limits (Mar. 18, 2017, IEEE vTools)

Drs. Boehman and Stefanopoulou join discussion on fuel economy target review (Mar. 15, 2017, MLive; Mar. 16, USA Today)

ARC partner Wayne State University hosts Engine Combustion Network ECN5 workshop (Mar. 31 - Apr. 1, 2017, WSU)

PBS Nova documentary on future battery tech interviews ARC faculty Dr. Levi Thompson (Jan. 2017, Energy Institute)


Drs. Stefanopoulou and Siegel - Recipients of 2016 Control Systems Technology Award (Dec. 13, 2016)

ARC Researchers at IEEE 55th Conf. Decision and Control (Dec. 12-14, 2016, IEEE)

Dr. Georges Fadel wins ASME Design Automation Award (Sep. 19, 2016, Newsstand)

TARDEC's ARC thrust area leader Dr. Denise Rizzo honored by Women in Defense (Oct 13, 2016, Crain's)

ARC Director Dr. Anna Stefanopoulou appointed the William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing (Oct. 13, 2016, ME)

ARC Researchers at ASME DSCC 2016 (Oct. 12-14, 2016, DSCC)

Dr. Anna Stefanopoulou Gives Engine Control Keynote at PMC Conference (Sep. 7-9, 2016, PMC)

ARC Researchers at ASME IDETC 2016 (Aug. 21-24, 2016, IDETC)

Dr. André Boehman appointed Associate Editor for Energy & Fuels Journal (Aug. 2016)

Dr. Tulga Ersal receives Research Faculty Recognition Award (Aug. 4, ME)

ARC Researchers at GVSETS (Aug. 2-4, 2016, GVSETS)

Dr. Matthew Reed named Don B. Chaffin Collegiate Research Professor (Jul. 22, 2016, UMTRI)

ARC Researchers at ACC 2016 (Jul. 6-8, 2016, ACC)

Green Car Congress article highlighting ARC autonomous obstable avoidance (Jun. 22, 2016, GCC)

Dr. Anna Stefanopoulou gives 2 keynotes: IFAC-ACC 2016 and Symposium for Combustion Control (Jun. 15 & 21, 2016)

Article about ARC battery paper in Green Car Congress (Jun. 6, 2016, GCC)

ARC/TARDEC authors of SAE paper #2014-01-0716 recognized with 2016 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award (Apr. 12 2016, SAE)

ARC Researchers at the 2016 SAE World Congress (Apr. 12-14, 2016, SAE)

TARDEC's ARC thrust area leaders Drs. Jayakumar & Lamb honored (Mar. 25 2016)

Dr. Dawn Tilbury to receive 2016 Engineering Society of Detroit (ESD) Gold Award. (Mar. 16, ESD)

Dr. Levi Thompson interviewed on storage advances in sustainable energy systems (Feb. 17, MLive)

Dr. Anna Stefanopoulou as Panelist and Presenter at SAE 2016 Government/Industry Meeting (Jan. 20, 2016, SAE)

Dr. Bogdan Epureanu receives U of M College of Engineering John F. Ullrich Education Excellence Award (Jan. 13, 2016, ME)