ARC Researchers at 2017 American Control Conference
(May 24-26, 2017 at Seattle, WA)

ARC researchers (principal investigators in bold) will be presenting their latest research developments. Below are their papers which may include non-ARC funded research (paper titles in bold are ARC funded).

Wednesday, May 24, 2017
  Session WeA03: Electrochemical Modeling and Diagnostics of Li-Ion Batteries
Room: Willow B
11:40 - 12:00 Paper WeA03.6
On Identifying the Aging Mechanisms in Li-Ion Batteries Using Two Points Measurements (I)
Peyman Mohtat, Farinaz Nezampasandarbabi, Shankar Mohan, Jason B. Siegel, Anna G. Stefanopoulou
11:20 - 11:40 Paper WeA03.5
Multiscale Modeling Approach to Determine Effective Lithium-Ion Transport Properties (I)
Harikesh Arunachalam, Svyatoslav Korneev, Ilenia Battiato, Simona Onori
  Session WeB18: Optimal Control II
Room: Columbia
13:50 - 14:10 Paper WeB18.2
Battery/Flywheel Hybrid Energy Storage to Mitigate Load Fluctuations in Electric Ship Propulsion Systems
Jun Hou, Jing Sun, Heath Hofmann
  Session WeC06: A Control Approaches for Human-Robot Interaction
Room: Cedar
16:40 - 17:00 Paper WeC06.3
A Quantitative Measure of Regret in Decision-Making for Human-Robot Collaborative Search Tasks (I)
Zhanrui Liao, Longsheng Jiang, Yue Wang
Thursday, May 25, 2017
  Session ThA08: A Agents-Based Systems IV
Room: Redwood
10:20 - 10:40 Paper ThA08.4
An Energy-Efficient Method for Multi-Robot Reconnaissance in an Unknown Environment
Michael Quann, Lauro Ojeda, William Smith, Denise Rizzo, Matthew Castanier, Kira Barton
  Session ThC09: Model Predictive Control of Automotive Systems
Room: Redwood B
17:40 - 18:00 Paper ThC09.6
Model Predictive Control for Low Pressure Exhaust Gas Recirculation with Scavenging
Ashley P. Wiese, Anna G. Stefanopoulou, Amey Karnik, Julia Buckland
Friday, May 26, 2017
  Session FrB03: IC Engine Modeling and Control
Room: Willow B
13:50 - 14:10 Paper FrB03.2
Nonlinear Model Predictive Air Path Control for Turbocharged SI Engines with Low Pressure EGR and a Continuous Surge Valve (I)
Qilun Zhu, Rohit Koli, Lujia Feng, Simona Onori, Robert Prucka,
14:50 - 15:10 Paper FrB03.5
Combustion Shaping Using Multivariable Feedback Control (I)
Bryan Maldonado, Huan Lian, Jason Martz, Anna G. Stefanopoulou, Kevin Zaseck, Eiki Kitagawa
  Session: FrB08: Analysis and Control of Autonomous Vehicles and Systems
Room: Redwood A
14:10 - 14:30 Paper FrB08.3
Optimal Scheduling of Autonomous Vehicle Arrivals at Intelligent Intersections Via MILP (I)
S. AliReza Fayazi, Ardalan Vahidi, Andre Luckow
  Session FrC03: Modeling, Optimization, and Control of Engine Exhaust Systems
Room: Willow B
16:40 - 17:00 Paper FrC03.3
The Elusive Consequences of Slow Engine Response on Drive Cycle Fuel Efficiency (I)
Shima Nazari, Robert Middleton, Jason Martz, Anna G. Stefanopoulou
17:00 - 17:20 Paper FrC03.4
Development and Experimental Validation of a Dual Extended Kalman Filter for Three Way Catalytic Converter (I)
Simone Gelmini, Stefano Sabatini, Mark Hoffman, Simona Onori
17:40 - 18:00 Paper FrC03.6
Continuum Scale Modeling of Exhaust Gas Transport in Gasoline Particulate Filters: An Applicability Regime Approach
Gabriele Pozzato, Harikesh Arunachalam, Simona Onori
  Session FrC08: Multivehicle Systems
Room: Redwood A
16:20 - 16:40 Paper FrC08.2
Automated Turning and Merging for Autonomous Vehicles Using a Nonlinear Model Predictive Control Approach
Lixing Huang, Dimitra Panagou
  Session FrC09: Obstacle Avoidance and Accident Mitigation Systems for Ground Vehicles
Room: Redwood B
16:20 - 16:40 Paper FrC09.2
A Double-Worst-Case Formulation for Improving the Robustness of an MPC-Based Obstacle Avoidance Algorithm to Parametric Uncertainty (I)
Jiechao Liu, Paramsothy Jayakumar, Jeffrey L. Stein, Tulga Ersal
16:40 - 17:00 Paper FrC09.3
Moving Obstacle Avoidance for Large, High-Speed Autonomous Ground Vehicles (I)
Huckleberry Febbo, Jiechao Liu, Paramsothy Jayakumar, Jeffrey L. Stein, Tulga Ersal
17:20 - 17:40 Paper FrC09.5
Vision-Based Target Tracking and Autonomous Landing of a Quadrotor on a Ground Vehicle
Tru Hoang, Enkhmurun Bayasgalan, Ziyin Wang, Gavriil Tsechpenakis, Dimitra Panagou